Stadium Views


The Babe Ruth of the College World Series and how many times can you say man whore in one paragraph? by gpiv
April 15, 2010, 12:25 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Sixty- five bottles of beer in the fridge.

This is the devil’s day, April 15th.  Usually I spend today in seclusion doing my taxes.  But I have a jury trial scheduled today so I had to do them early.  The bad news is I had cancer last year.  The bad news is that I didn’t make much money last year.  The good news is that I don’t have to pay the government as much as I usually do today. The bad news is I don’t have the money to pay them because of medical bills from the cancer.  The good news is I’m healthy and cancer free.

Two good news and three bad news.  Most would say that’s not good.  The last good news trumps all others.  Thank you God.

This is going to be short because of the jury trial.  I need to finish my prep before court this morning.

Moosey suggested this one the other day along with thanking me for not calling him a man whore in his blog like I did in front of his dad, who apparently doesn’t know he’s a man whore, at least not until I called him a man whore.  And I apologize because Moosey’s probably just a serial man whore, and that behavior just comes out when he’s in Omaha for the College World Series.  Either that or he’s a periodic abuser man whore with periods that just arise during the CWS.  Anyway Moosey, I accept your thanks for not calling you a man whore in the pages of this blog.  Your secret of being a man whore is safe with me.  Don’t ever say I can’t keep a secret.

Oh by the way, one of  Moosey’s friends wanted me to know that when they were in college together and playing on the baseball team, apparently the local burger king made the mistake of putting Whoppers on sale for one dollar and his teammates bet him that he couldn’t eat ten.  Guess who won that bet?  How can anybody possibly eat that much mayo?

I’m the Babe Ruth of the CWS.

No, I didn’t play in the series and hit the most home runs.  No, I didn’t womanize like the Babe(I leave that for Moosey). No, although I drink my fair share it never reaches the legendary status of the Babe.

I called my shot.

A few years ago the Clemson game was running late.  The people who want to get closer to their cars for a quick getaway but still want to see the end of the game had filled The View to watch the end of the game on my TV.  It’s like a 26 inch or 32 inch non hi def, ordinary TV.  See as a gambler all I need to do lis see the score, so all the fanciness of the new TVs is lost on me.  But the place was packed.

Now I think it was extra innings.  Clemson was batting in the bottom of the inning.  They loaded the bases and had one of their better hitters at the plate. Having the clairvoyance that only comes with the exact prescription of Busch Light, a prescription which comes to me nearly daily, I announced to the crowd, “I would squeeze right here.”

The rest is history and unfolded in what seemed like slow motion.  You saw the Clemson third base slowly go through the machinations that go along with delivering the appropriate signal to the batter.  There was the ever so deliberate windup of the pitcher.  You could clearly see the runner leave the base and start this flight toward home.  The batter squared and lo and behold laid down a perfect bunt.

The runner scored, game over…………………

And another peg added to my legendary status.

So like the Babe, after calling my shot, I celebrated with a few more beers.

And like the Babe, Moosey changed his clothes, went out, and acted like a man whore.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

As we creep closer and closer to the series, it appears the blog’s status as family friendly becomes more and more questionable. As a faithful reader, I refrained from making many comments, saying to myself, “Piv’s trying to keep it clean.” Although, if a young reader were to ask about Moosey’s activites, you could transition to a Mary Magdalene comparison and you are back on track. In any event, the next evolution of this has to be a Moosey fan page on Facebook.

Greg M.

Comment by Greg

HA!!!! I’m laughing out-loud at work on this one….. Sometimes the truth hurts Hoss (Moosey)!

Comment by Double-U

Who’s Hoss Piv

Comment by gpiv

Hoss = Moosey

I don’t know why we’ve always called him Hoss and you’ve always called him Moosey. Kris has to play the neutral party and usually calls him by the appropriate nickname given the audience.

Comment by Double-U

Be careful Moosey the S.T.D. rate in douglas county is #1 in the World.

Comment by stingray

Next to Harper’s college fund should be a donation jar that helps keep Moosey protected.

Comment by Greg

Piv – You almost have the “Called Shot” correct. You did call the shot but the ULL Ragin Cajuns were batting Vs Clemson at the end of the game and squeezed and then won on a throwing error. After the called shot you jumped up and down exclaiming, “What a call by the kid”. Everyone selling T’s was excited because ULL spent some good money that CWS and the win meant that they were staying around a couple more days to contribute to the Omaha economy.

PS – I have the “Called Shot” on tape. ESPN INSTANT CLASSIC

Comment by KB

Remember, just like a television movie this blog is based upon a true story, not necessarilly true. Moosey’s the one who said it was clemson. I guess he was preemptively getting back at me for the man whore ;story Piv

Comment by gpiv




Leave a Reply

